Hello all of my fellow and aspiring writer friends!  That time of year called NaNoWriMo is rapidly approaching us.  Started in 1999, NaNoWriMo is a way for writers to come together, encourage each other to write daily, and work hard at writing a new 50,000 word novel in one month.  November is National Novel Writing Month, and many people couldn’t be more excited.  There are, as always, the nay-sayers.  Take this article, for example.  I do see the point she’s trying to make.  Even if you can get a novel written in one month, it doesn’t mean it’s a good novel.  It’s important to go through the editing process multiple times, until you are positive that you have something worth publishing.  Tighten up the document, remove unnecessary verbiage, have friends, family, and even professionals go over your novel to make sure everything fits together and makes sense.  I do not agree with her when she suggests that there are enough novels out there.  To me, that’s like saying, “All topics have been written about.  There’s no good material left in the world.”  Yes, there are many books that I will never be able to read, but someone is out there reading them.

I’ve been a writer for some time now.  I’ve never actually had a novel published, but I have had a few articles and poems published.  Also, I was a writer at a previous job, where I wrote procedures for different departments.  I had never heard of NaNoWriMo until last year.  The fine people at Grammerly.com gathered a few hundred of their loyal followers and were determined to participate in writing a complete novel as a group, giving the attempt the moniker of GrammoWriMo.  They succeeded in writing a novel titled The Lonely Wish Giver, and it was written by 300 writers from 27 countries (and 44 U.S. states)!  It is now an ebook and can be purchased here.  This year’s GrammoWriMo theme centers around the destruction of Pompeii, a topic that I have been fascinated with since about fourth grade, so I’m really excited to work on this project!

If you are interested in participating in either or both of these events, use the following links to join:

NaNoWriMo – https://nanowrimo.org/sign_in

GrammoWriMo – http://www.grammarly.com/grammowrimo/

